7 Ways


In the first of many, we would like to put the spotlight on influential record labels, starting with one of Chicago’s institutions, Dance Mania.

Originally named Dance Mania Records, it was founded in 1985 by House music royalty Jesse Saunders before he turned it over to Raymond Barney (owner of Barney Records) in 1986. From there the label was a pressing machine, releasing just over 50 EPs between 1988-91. The label constantly evolved with the sound of Chicago; vocal house & acid tracks were the initial sound of Dance Mania releases (artists to note: Lil Louis, Phuture & The House Master Boyz), however by ’94 it had progressed into dirty Chicago disco & ghetto releases by the likes of DJ Funk & Parris Mitchell.There will be more posts on other Dance Mania releases, however here are some of our favourites:

Parris Mitchell & R.J. Hall* ‎– Work It! “94″

Producing most of his work under alias Parris Mitchell & Victor Romeo, Mitchell teamed up with four piece house group Reggie Hall to create Work It 94.

A Work It!
B1 It’s Alright (Clubdown Mix)
B2 It’s Alright (Dubdown Mix)
B3 It’s Alright (Work It Mix)

Hercules ‎– 7 Ways

Hercules is one of six known aliases for Marshall Jefferson.
This was Dance Mania’s second record, released in 1986.

A 7 Ways (Vocal)
B1 7 Ways (Instrumental)
B2 7 Ways (Club)

Gary “Jackmaster” Wallace ‎– House Has Taken Over Me

Another Chicago house staple, Wallace was a Billboard Magazine Club Reporter and music buyer at the iconic record store Imports Etc. Resident at many of Chicago’s infamous house clubs including Heroes, The Riviera & The Warehouse, Wallace produced his first track, House Has Taken Over Me in 1989 and has featured in several other projects such as Ecstacy, Black Ice Productions & The Shermanians.
Our pick from this release is the Acid Mix; with vocals by Eric Duke & gurgling 303 acid lines, it’s timeless.

A1 House Has Taken Over Me (The Club Mix)
A2 House Has Taken Over Me (The Acid Mix)
B1 House Has Taken Over Me (The House Every Night Oh Yeah Mix)
B2 House Has Taken Over Me (Rob’D Mix)

Two Men On Wax ‎– Get You Some More

Two Men On Wax are Paul Johnson & Louis Bell, both well known producers in their own right, released five EPs under this alias between ’94 & ’95.
You might recognise the popular sample in Get You Some More; The original was Let No Man Put Asunder by American disco trio First Choice, released in 1984.
It has also been used by German producer Butch in his track No Worries.

A1 Get You Some More
A2 Men’s Gift 2 A Woman
B1 Bad Smoke
B2 Freaky Bitch

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s